« Back to news list

Several years ago, Mrs. Helen Ruffin, a library media specialist in DeKalb County, created a unique reading competition in a quiz bowl format, called the Reading Bowl, using the Georgia Children’s Book award nominees. Her vision was to have teams comprised of students from different schools compete to test their knowledge of the selected books. Today, the Georgia Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl is open to students in grades four through twelve across the state. Competitions are held at the local, regional and divisional levels with the winning teams from the Divisional Bowls competing in March for the State Championship of the Georgia Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl.

When more than two local schools want to compete at the regional competition, then a local competition must be held to see which two teams will represent our county. The Gordon County Reading Bowl competition for the elementary schools was held on Monday, January 30th at the Gordon County College and Career Academy. Teams from Belwood, Fairmount, Redbud, Sonoraville and Swain were all represented at the county bowl. First place went to the team from Belwood Elementary and second place went to the team from Swain Elementary. These two teams will move on to the North Region competition that will be held on Saturday, February 4th in Gainesville. In addition to the two elementary teams competing at the regional level, Redbud Middle and Sonoraville High will also be sending teams to compete in Gainesville.

We would like to thank Ramona Burnett, Celena Chastain and Terrie Fitzwater for planning this year’s event.  We would like to thank the volunteers from the Calhoun-Gordon Council for a Literate Community, Sheri Pruitt (Gordon Central High School Media Specialist), Cawood Cornelius (Sonoraville High School Media Specialist), and student volunteers: Daniel Estes, Lei-Lani Rogers & Austin McKinney from the Sonoraville High School Reading Bowl Team and Caitlin Stewart from GCHS for helping facilitate this competition. Room judges and volunteers included: Joni Harbin, Phyllis Purdy, Lindsay Baxter, Heather Balliew, & Stephanie Kinman. We would like to send a special thanks to Amy Parker and the GCCCA for hosting the event. 

School Supplies