Driver Education Program
Related Documents:
Summer 2017 Application
Application for Behind the Wheel Instruction
Summer 2017 Flyer



School Year Driver's Education – Classroom and BTW


During the school year, driver education classes will be offered at Gordon Central High School and Sonoraville High School on a rotating schedule. Any student that has their learner's permit, regardless of where they go to school, can enroll in the class. Home schooled students can also enroll in the class. Students will need to bring paper and pencil to each class. A wire bound notebook is recommended.


·     30 hours of classroom instruction


·     6 hours behind-the-wheel training, scheduled outside of classroom instruction time. The BTW instruction will be scheduled by the driving instructor according to the student’s availability and schedule.


·     Cost: $250 (Make checks payable to: Gordon County BOE - Community Education).  A non-refundable deposit of $50 is due when the application is turned in. The remaining balance will be due on the first day of class.


·     Space for each class is limited so it is recommended that you turn in the application as soon as possible. 


For more information:


·     Go to the Holland Complex/Gordon County Transportation Department on Dews Pond Road


·     Call (706) 629-1804 ext. 8000 or 8001


·     Check the system web site  



Behind the Wheel Instruction can now be taken with the GCS Driver Ed. Program


(Instruction does not include classroom hours – only 6 hours of Behind the Wheel instruction)


Cost will be $190 with a non-refundable deposit of $50 with the application


A copy of the certificate showing that the 30 hours classroom or online course has been completed must be submitted with the application for the BTW only instruction.


The 6 hours of driving time will be scheduled on an individual basis, based on each student’s schedule and instructor availability. The instructor will contact the parent or student to schedule a driving time. Driving will be done in either three 2 hour blocks or two 3 hour blocks of time.


Instruction is open to any student that has their learner’s permit – regardless of where they go to school, as long as the online course or 30 hours of classroom instruction has been completed.


Make checks payable to: G. C. B. O. E. – Community Education. 


These courses are certified by the Georgia Department of Driver Services for meeting the requirements of Joshua's Law and for insurance reduction (see your insurance agent concerning insurance issues). You may also be eligible for a tax credit of $ 150 on your Georgia Income Tax for the year that the course was completed.


Joshua's Law: To get a Class D driver's license at age sixteen (16), a student must have completed a driver education course approved by the Department of Driver Services. If a student has NOT completed an approved DDS course, he/she cannot get a Class D license until they reach age seventeen (17).