If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.
If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.
  • Gordon County Schools Proposed 2020-2021 School Calendar Draft

    The Gordon County Schools' Board of Education has had the opportunity to review survey feedback, comments from stakeholders and the calendar drafts provided by the Joint School Calendar Committee (student, parent, teacher, and community representatives from Calhoun City and Gordon County Schools) that met on Friday, November 22nd.  Approximately 3,000 respondents shared their thoughts on school start and end dates, holidays and school breaks, and other priorities that they felt should be considered during the calendar planning process.  Fifty four percent of respondents felt it was somewhat or very important that the two school systems attempt to align school calendars.  Fifty three percent responded that a longer summer would be welcomed.  The top four priorities based on survey feedback included:  Two full weeks surrounding Christmas / New Year Holidays = 62%; Start school no sooner than the middle of August = 38%; Full week at Thanksgiving = 29%; School ending no later than Memorial Day = 27%.  


    Based on the survey feedback, School Governance Team and Calendar Committee discussions, the Board feels that the following 2020-2021 student calendar draft which includes 176 instructional days, meets the expectations and supports the needs of our students, staff and community.  The following student calendar will be recommended at the January Board meeting:

    Gordon County Schools

    First day of school

    Wednesday, August 12, 2020

    Labor Day

    Monday, September 7, 2020

    Fall Break

    Monday, October 5, 2020 - Tuesday, October 6, 2020

    Thanksgiving Break

    Monday, November 23, 2020 - Friday, November 27, 2020

    Christmas Break

    Monday, December 21, 2020 - Tuesday, January 5, 2021

    MLK Jr. Day

    Monday, January 18, 2021

    Pres. Day / Winter Break

    Monday, February 15, 2021 - Wednesday, February 17, 2021

    Student Holiday

    *Monday, March 15, 2021 (PLD for Staff)

    Spring Break

    Monday, April 5, 2021 - Friday, April 9, 2021

    Last Day of School

    Wednesday, May 26, 2021

    *Professional Learning Days will be determined by system and school leadership as part of the strategic planning process.