- W.L. Swain Elementary School
Georgia Attendance Laws
These are the attendance laws for the state of Georgia, if your child has multiple un-excused absences, the actions stated below will be taken.
Protocol for all students subject to the compulsory attendance laws of Georgia:
Each school year, each parent/guardian of record and students 10 years of age or older (as of September 1) shall be given notification of the procedures outlined in this administrative regulation. Signed receipt of such notification shall be maintained by the school.
Returning required registration forms and keeping the school informed of changes in contact information is a parental responsibility. As used in this administrative regulation, two documented attempts by the school to contact parents and/or students shall constitute sufficient notification.
Excuses for Absences
Absences from school are considered excused upon presentation of a written statement verifying lawful justification for the absence within 3 school days of the student’s return to school. After seven (7) cumulative absences or five (5) unexcused absences, a valid medical excuse bearing the date of the absence(s) and specifically stating that such absence was medically necessary.
An excuse note shall be brought to the school upon the student’s return from any lawful absence from school. If an excuse note is not received by the school within 3 school days of the student’s return to school, the absence(s) shall be recorded as unexcused.
These steps are to be followed in cases of excessive accumulated unexcused absences:
Step One: After five (5) absences within an academic year, exclusive of excused days, the school will notify the parent, guardian, or person who has control or charge of a child of possible consequences. After two reasonable attempts by the attendance officer or designee, a certified letter shall be sent, returned receipt requested, advising the parent, guardian, or person who has control or charge of the student that sufficient notice has been served and further unexcused absences constitute violations of law. After five (5) unexcused absences, no absence shall be recorded as excused without a valid medical excuse bearing the date of the absence(s) and specifically stating that such absence was medically necessary.
Step Two: After seven (7) absences within an academic year, exclusive of excused days, the school social worker or designee will consult with the parent, guardian, or person who has control or charge of a child via first class mail. Should attempts to make personal contact fail, a letter requesting a conference shall be sent to the parent or guardian. For students 14 years of age or older, this notice shall include information on the Teenager and Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TAADRA) which provides for revocation or denial of driver’s licenses of students who accumulate ten (10) or more absences within a semester, exclusive of excused days.
Step Three: After twelve (12) absences the attendance officer, school social worker or designee shall develop an attendance improvement plan. Through school-based case management attendance shall be monitored.
Step Four: After reaching Step Three, if absenteeism continues or recurs within an academic year, the attendance officer or social worker will consider revision of the attendance improvement plan and/or referral to appropriate agencies.